Sandra Hemmert

CTE Specialist, Granite School District

Sandra Hemmert has been involved in the design and implementation of educational programs for 38 years. Sandra works closely with industry leaders to develop programs that align Career & Technical Education pathways to industry workforce needs.

Sandra believes that the greatest achievement a person can have is positively impacting the lives of others. She emphasizes this goal in her work, community and family.

Sandra was instrumental in the design and implementation of the Granite Technical Institute (GTI). The GTI moved high cost, high tech programs to a central location supporting opening opportunities for all students in the district. The GTI opened in 2006 with an enrollment of just over 800 students. Enrollment has grown to 4,817 in 2017. Sandra opened the doors of the BioInnovations Gateway (an incubator for life science companies) in 2009. BiG is an innovative approach that joins workforce training with economic development.  

Sandra works closely with government and industry partners to create programs that lead to careers in high demand, high tech industries. She believes that a team focused on a common goal can accomplish anything. She currently works with fourteen industry advisory boards that guide curriculum, instruction and work-based learning opportunities in CTE pathways. She was instrumental in development of the advanced manufacturing high school standards for the state of Utah and just completed the first advanced manufacturing training for teachers in the state with a focus on lean manufacturing and six sigma.

Sandra participates in teams that guide work in aerospace, life science, and advanced materials with efforts resulting in the Utah Aerospace Pathways and the Medical Innovations Pathways. She is currently a member of the Utah Advanced Materials and Manufacturing Initiative (UAMMI) Board.

A business leader called Sandra an “energetic, creative and motivated leader that designs programs to change the face of education.”

Learn more about our 2017 finalists

Alison Lutjemeier 

Amy Knapp

Ashley Dreier 

Dasha Kadulova 

Debi Mofford

Jamie Morningstar

Kira Booth

Laura Butler

Lindsey Kneuven

Mariah Hay

Rachel Hofstetter

Sandra Hemmert

Sharon Kitzman 

Trina Limpert 

Dr. Yolanda Chong

The Women Tech Awards

Thursday October 27, 2017

Purchase Tickets