Women Tech Council’s Third Annual Award Honors Fourteen Outstanding Women in Technology

SALT LAKE CITY—AUG. 2, 2010— The Women Tech Council (WTC), (www.womentechcouncil.org) announced fourteen finalists for its third annual Women Tech Awards. The program recognizes technology-focused women who are driving innovation, leading technology companies and are key contributors to the community. The event is hosted by MountainWest Capital Network and presented by EnergySolutions, Epic Ventures, Ernst & Young, Stoel Rives and USTAR. Finalists and award recipients will be honored at an awards luncheon on Thursday, September 16, 2010, at the Grand America Hotel.

“These fourteen finalists are remarkable examples of the talented women in technology,” said Cydni Tetro, Women Tech Council director. “We are pleased to honor them as they excel in their endeavors throughout various industries.”

Finalists, listed alphabetically, are as follows:

Padma Allen, M.D., Technodyne, LLC
Christine M. Archibald, ManagementPlus
Carol J. Campbell, Ph.D., ATK
Carol Fineagan, EnergySolutions
Sarah B. Hiza, Ph.D., ATK
Chiao-ih Hui, L-3 Communications
Laura Nelson, Ph.D., Red Leaf Resources
Fran Maier, TRUSTe
Julie Simmons, MarketStar
Melain Terry, Novell
Christine Williams, Western Governors University
Suzanne Winters, Ph.D., BioInnovations Gateway

“This award programs lets us showcase women who are impacting the economy. They are innovating new products, creating jobs, contributing to the community and making a difference in the lives of the people around them. This year the reach of the program reached from coast to coast and continues our goals of providing recognition and visibility to women early in their careers and to those who have dedicated a lifetime to the technology industry.” said Tetro. “We commend these women for their contributions.”

From the fourteen finalists, five award recipients will be announced at the awards luncheon. A selection committee from the technology industry, venture, government and professional communities selected the finalists and will select the award recipients.

Tickets for the luncheon are $65.00 for members and $75.00 for non-members. Premier tables for ten guests are available for $650.00. You can purchase tickets online or by contacting JoLin Johnson at [email protected].

Event Details:

Date: Thursday, September 16, 2010
Time: 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Location: Grand America Hotel
555 South Main Street
Salt Lake City, UT