SALT LAKE CITYSept. 22, 2015 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — The Women Tech Council (WTC) recognized eight technology-focused women who are driving innovation, leading technology companies and contributing to the technology economy in the Eighth Annual Women Tech Awards held today at the Grand America Hotel.

The event, presented by EY, Vivint, Method Communications, Parsons Behle and Latimer, USTAR, Pluralsight, Varian Medical and MountainWest Capital Network, was keynoted by Michelle Munson, CEO of Aspera, an IBM Company.

Over the past eight years, WTC has recognized 130 women, 25 university students, and sponsored over 700 high school students to attend the awards, helping to inspire the next generation of STEM-focused students. Women Tech Council is thrilled to be able to support the education community in such a meaningful way.

Award Recipients are as follows:

Student Development – Jessica Harris, UVU
Rising Star – Vicky Thomas, Lucid Software
Customer Excellence – Denise Leleux, eBay
Technology Trailblazer – Mary Ann White, Orbital ATK
Innovator – Stormy Simon,
Technology Leadership – Catherine Wong, Domo
Leadership Excellence – Jill Layfield, Backcountry

The Impact Award was given to Amanda Hudson from Western Governors University.

“Today’s award recipients represent the great women we have in technology who are making significant contributions to technology,” said Cydni Tetro, Executive Director of WTC. “We are honored to recognize these inspirational women.”

The finalists for 2015, listed alphabetically, are as follows:

  • Kathy Allman, Orbital ATK
  • Joy Driscoll Durling,  Adobe Systems
  • Jana Francis,
  • Megan Herrick, Pluralsight
  • Helen Knaggs, NuSkin Inc
  • Jill Layfield,
  • Denise Leleux, eBay
  • Amanda Peeler, SpinGo
  • Tricia Schumann, Arches Health Plan
  • Stormy Simon,
  • Mary Sinnott, Surgical Frontiers
  • Archana Thiagarajan, Adobe Systems
  • Victoria Marie Thomas, Lucid Software
  • Mary Ann White, Orbital ATK
  • JaeLynn Williams, 3M
  • Catherine Wong, Domo

The three Student Development Award Finalists are:

  • Jessica Harris – Utah Valley University
  • JoCee Porter – University of Utah
  • Ioana Schirirnet – Brigham Young University