SALT LAKE CITYSept. 22, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — The Women Tech Council (WTC) recognized seven technology-focused women who are driving innovation, leading technology companies and contribution to the technology economy in the Ninth Annual Women Tech Awards held today at the Grand America Hotel.

The event, presented by Domo, EY, Vivint Smart Home, EMC, Governor’s Office of Economic Development, USTAR, Varian Medical and MountainWest Capital Network, was keynoted by Julie Hanna, Presidential Ambassador of Global Entrepreneurship.

Over the past nine years, WTC has recognized 155 women, 23 university students, and sponsored over 500 high school students to attend the awards, helping to inspire the next generation of STEM-focused students. Women Tech Council is thrilled to be able to support the education community in such a meaningful way.

Award Recipients are as follows:

Student Development – Christine Mooth, BYU
Rising Star – Kat Kennedy, Degreed
Customer Excellence – Gwendolyn Smith, Instructure
Technology Trailblazer – Yelena Makogon, Goldman Sachs
Innovator – Christina Qi, Domeyard LP
Educational Excellence – Shalini KesarSouthern Utah University
Leadership Excellence – Vicky Fish, Myriad

The Impact Award was given to President Holland of Utah Valley University.

“Today’s award recipients represent the great women we have in technology who are making significant contributions to technology,” said Cydni Tetro, Executive Director of WTC “We are honored to recognize these inspirational women.”

The Women Tech Award finalists, listed alphabetically, are as follows:

  • Brenda Mann, Ph.D., EyeGate Pharmaceuticals
  • BriAnna McKissen, Experticity
  • Carol Lynn Curchoe, Ph.D., 32ATPS
  • Christina Qi, Domeyard LP
  • Desiree Matel-Anderson, Field Innovation Team
  • Gwendolyn Smith, Instructure
  • Jennifer Holmes, Central Logic
  • JoAnn Lighty, Ph.D., University of Utah
  • Kat Archibald, Degreed
  • Melissa Loble, Instructure
  • Michelle Suzuki, RisePoint
  • Shalini Kesar, Ph.D.Southern Utah University
  • Starr Fowler, Vivint Smart Home
  • Theresa Foxley, GOED
  • Vanessa Quigley, Chatbooks
  • Vicki Fish, Myriad
  • Yelena Makogon, Goldman Sachs

We are also pleased to recognize three university student finalists who are:

  • Alex Valenzuela – Utah Valley University
  • Christine Mooth – Brigham Young University
  • Katharin Jensen – University of Utah