Winners to be announced September 22 at awards luncheon

SALT LAKE CITYJune 29, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — Women Tech Council (WTC) announced today the finalists for the ninth annual Women Tech Awards, a prestigious honor recognizing technology-focused women who are driving innovation, leading technology companies, and are key contributors to the technology community. The finalists represent 20 women in a wide range of technology industries, including 3 collegiate finalists. Winners will be announced Sept. 22, 2016 at an awards luncheon from 12:00 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City (555 S. Main Street). The Awards are sponsored by Domo, EMC, Governor’s Office of Economic Development, Vivint Smart Home, EY, USTAR, and Varian Medical.

Over the past nine years, WTC has recognized 155 Utah women for their accomplishments in driving innovation, leading technology companies and building the state’s technology community, including 23 college students. WTC has also sponsored over 500 high school students to attend the awards, helping to inspire the next generation of STEM-focused students. In this and other efforts, WTC is an integral part of the STEM education pipeline for young women.

The Women Tech Award finalists, listed alphabetically, are as follows:

  • Brenda Mann, Ph.D., EyeGate Pharmaceuticals
  • BriAnna McKissen, Experticity
  • Carol Lynn Curchoe, Ph.D., 32ATPS
  • Christina Qi, Domeyard LP
  • Desiree Matel-Anderson, Field Innovation Team
  • Gwendolyn Smith, Instructure
  • Jennifer Holmes, Central Logic
  • JoAnn Lighty, Ph.D., University of Utah
  • Kat Archibald, Degreed
  • Melissa Loble, Instructure
  • Michelle Suzuki, RisePoint
  • Shalini Kesar, Ph.D.Southern Utah University
  • Starr Fowler, Vivint Smart Home
  • Theresa Foxley, GOED
  • Vanessa Quigley, Chatbooks
  • Vicki Fish, Myriad
  • Yelena Makogon, Goldman Sachs

We are also pleased to recognize 3 university student finalists who are:

  • Alex Valenzuela – Utah Valley University
  • Christine Mooth – Brigham Young University
  • Katharin Jensen – University of Utah

“The Women Tech Awards recognizes outstanding women in technology fields who drive innovation and create impact, showcases the breadth of talent in Utah’s STEM fields and highlights great role models for the next generation,” said Cydni Tetro, WTC president. “Congratulations to this year’s finalists, who have now become part of an elite group of 150 women who represent some of the best minds of women in tech.”

Finalists were chosen by a judging panel of key members from the technology community. From these finalists, nine of the award recipients will be chosen and announced at the awards luncheon on September 22.

Tickets for the event are $100.00 for WTC members and $125.00 for non-members. Education sponsor tables, which seat 6 guests and 4 sponsored high school students, are $1,250.  Premier tables for 10 guests are available for $1,000.  Tickets can be purchased online at

Event Details:
Date: Thursday Sept. 22, 2016
Time: 12:00 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Location: Grand America Hotel   
555 South Main Street
Salt Lake City, UT