2009 Awards

Women Tech Council recognized sixteen technology-focused women who are driving innovation, leading technology companies and contribution to the technology economy in the Second Annual Women Tech Awards. The event was emceed by Shauna Lake of KUTV 2 News.

Award recipients, listed alphabetically, are as follows:

  • Leadership Excellence, Carine Clark
  • Community Builder, Nicole Toomey Davis
  • Educational Excellence, Cynthia Furse, Ph.D.
  • Technology Innovator, Carolyn B. McClain
  • Technology Trailblazer, Cindy L Snow
  • Rising Star, Angela Trego, Ph.D, P.E

Lex Watterson, President of MountainWest Capital Network, said, “This unique Award program will continue to grow as it recognizes great women who provide leadership in technology and business here in Utah.”

“Recognizing these women also gives us an opportunity to honor the great companies that foster their careers,” said Cydni Tetro, Executive Director, Women Tech Council and CMO at FamilyLink. “We were overwhelmed by the support these companies made to their finalists.”

Each Award Recipient received a hand-crafted statue entitled “Defying Gravity,” specially designed for the event by award-winning artist Andrew Smith. A selection committee from private industry, venture, government and academic communities selected the Finalists and Award Recipients.

  • Amy Rees Anderson, MediConnect Global
  • Reyhan Baktur, Ph.D., Utah State University
  • Sheh Bertram, Zions Bancorporation
  • Carol J. Campbell, Ph.D., ATK Space Systems
  • Carine Clark, Symantec
  • Nicole Toomey Davis, Governor’s Office Of Economic Development
  • Vicki E. Farrar, Esq., Catheter Connections
  • Cynthia Furse, Ph.D., LiveWire Test Labs And University Of Utah
  • Carolyn B. McClain, Novell
  • Kelly McCrystal, SpectrumDNA
  • Laurie Nylund, Celio Corp
  • Pollyanna Pixton, Accelinnova
  • Cindy Sanders, Novell
  • Cindy L. Snow, ContentWatch
  • Angela Trego, Ph.D., P.E., ATK Launch Systems
  • Suzanne Winters, Ph.D., BioInnovations Gateway

EnergySolutions, Ernst & Young, Epic Ventures, MountainWest Capital Network, Novell, USTAR, and Workman Nydegger

Marguerite Hancock, Associate Director of Stanford Program on Regions of Innovation and Entrepreneurship


Become a Member
Get Involved